Introduction to Job Management

GeoOp is centrally managed by administrative Staff in the office. They will use GeoOp to create & assign Jobs to your mobile Staff. This Job information is then received on the Staff member’s mobile device application.

Once the jobs are received in the field, Staff can work on the Job, provide real time updates on the Job progress, and as all information and Charge items are added to the Job record they are available for instant reference in the office. Mobile Staff are also location-tracked by GPS back in the office.

All information added to Jobs in GeoOp is available for easy reference in the future, including all text and email communications sent to Staff and Clients, documents, quotes and invoices, without the need for paper records.

The process for Job Management in GeoOp falls into 3 distinct areas:

  • Creating the Job - Adding Job and Client details, assigning Staff and scheduling the first site visit;
  • On the Job - Your mobile Staff using the GeoOp app on site, to manage Job progress and provide quotes;
  • Completing the Job - the Job being marked as Completed, then invoicing the Client.

Creating the Job

Prior to creating your Job you need to ensure you have your Staff set up correctly. Ensure you have created appropriate Staff Roles and allocated Charge Rates. Other setting should also be considered, such as setting up Job Status options your Staff will use to easily update Job progress, and whether or not your business wants to use Quoting.

Add a Client to the Job, ensuring the Client record (which provides initial site location details for the Job) gives you an accurate mapping location. If required you can move the pin on the map for precise location definition.

You can also add a separate Billing Client to the Job if required, and use our Scheduler for advanced Job assignment tasks.

You can assign Staff to a Visit in the Job, possibly using Workgroups you have created. Multiple Staff members can be added to a Job as required, by creating multiple Visits.

The term "Job" in GeoOp can also be quite adaptable. If for instance a Staff member is on Holiday you can create a "Job" called "Leave" and passing the staff member to this, that way they cannot be accidentally added to another Job.

On the Job

Staff on the Job will receive a notification through their mobile devices of the new Visit assigned to them. They can view this and other Visits assigned to them via a range of filtered views, or even by nearest Job. After updating the Job Status, they have easy mapping and GPS directions services available, as well as a choice of ways to communicate with the Client.

On site they can simply add time and parts, either as quoted items or actuals. They can add notes and files to the Job, provide instant quotes and take signed approvals or record payments. All updated back in the office in real time.

Deleting a Job

You can easily delete Job/s via the Job List. Simply click on the box to the left of any specific job/s, then hover your mouse over the green 'Selected' option located at the top right of your screen, then select the 'Delete Selected' option. Please see our article here for more info.

Completing the Job

After making site visits and recording actuals, the final 'Billable' Charge items are set and the Job is completed. Back in the office the completed Job is now ready for Invoicing. If GeoOp is integrated with an accounting service like Xero or Freshbooks, the Billable items are quickly and simply sent to those programs, and a copy of the invoice is returned to the GeoOp Job record for reference.

The Staff member has enjoyed a simple and timesaving experience on the Job, the office has all the information about the Job on hand for trouble free and efficient invoicing, and most importantly the Client has had good communication, good service, instant quoting and accurate invoicing!

Did this answer your question?